Recognizing 50 Years of Promoting Progress and Creating Change

(Vienna, VA, March 28, 2001) ---The Year 2001 is the 50th Anniversary and a golden highlight for American Women in Radio and Television, Inc. (AWRT), the oldest continuously operating nonprofit professional association dedicated to advancing women in the electronic media and allied fields. On Monday, April 23rd, AWRT will receive the prestigious "Spirit of Broadcasting Award" from the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) during the All Industry Opening at the NAB annual convention in Las Vegas.

The "Spirit of Broadcasting Award" honors AWRT for strengthening the position of women in radio and television over the past 50 years. The award is presented by NAB only periodically in recognition of general excellence and leadership to individuals or organizations that have made lasting contributions to the broadcast industry. Past winners include prominent industry leaders such as Dawson B. (Tack) Nail, Vice President and Executive Editor of Television Digest and Communications Daily (1995) and former FCC Chairman, Robert E. Lee (1991).

"AWRT's dedication and progress in furthering the impact of women in radio and television truly reflects the spirit of our industry and this award," said Edward O. Fritts, NAB President and CEO. "We look forward to saluting the accomplishments of this fine organization at NAB 2001."

Nancy J. Logan, AWRT National President said, "We take great pride in AWRT's history of progress and the accomplishments of women in the media over the past 50 years. As we begin the new millennium, we are proud to be honored by NAB and look forward to continuing to provide a collective voice and to assist in promoting the advancement of women in electronic media."

AWRT's 50th Anniversary Celebration was officially kicked-off on January 24th, 2001 when AWRT hosted a celebrity super panel, "Women of Television," during the National Association of Television Programming Executives (NATPE) annual convention in Las Vegas. The panel featured TV personalities: Whoopi Goldberg, Judge Judy, Cristina Saralegui, Gloria Allred and Leeza Gibbons as moderator.

On May 31st, AWRT will present its 26th Annual Gracie Allen Awardsä at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. The Gracie Allen Awardsä strive to encourage the positive and realistic portrayal of women in entertainment, commercials, news features and other programming. The awards program brings together industry luminaries, broadcasting and cable professionals to celebrate the outstanding achievements of their happy birthday daughter in law images.

The 50th Anniversary Celebration will peak in the Fall of 2001 with the release of, "Making Waves: The 50 Greatest Women in Radio & Television," and a celebrity book launch luncheon in New York City. The outstanding women featured in the historical book range from Eleanor Roosevelt to Barbara Walters. The book is being published to document and showcase the tremendous accomplishments and contributions of the most outstanding women trailblazers in radio and television since the infancy of the broadcast media. For the first time, AWRT's ongoing efforts as an organization in support of women in this competitive industry will be collected in one publication and given due homage. Due for release in the Fall of 2001, the book is being published by Andrews McMeel Publishing and all royalties will go directly to benefit AWRT to help further advance the impact of women in the electronic media in the 21st Century.